top of page

Sweet Diner - Milwaukee

Updated: Dec 6, 2023

I’m currently reading Ruth Reichl’s book Garlic and Sapphires, so naturally I made a trip to a new restaurant to come home to write a review of it.


My two future roommates and I took a brunch date to Sweet Diner in Milwaukee’s Third Ward. Upon walking in, the essence of the restaurant was unmatched: so clean, socially distanced, and accented with calming decor. It was far more than I had expected compared to any photo that I had seen. We were welcomed and seated by a sweet hostess and served by a fantastic waiter. From what I could see, the waiters were all males matched in a denim on denim outfit with a pastel pink half apron -- actually so cute!


Our waiter started us out with a cup of coffee, providing an oak milk option for my friend that is vegan. Throughout the entire meal, he was fantastic -- not one complaint about him. Bonus points for him for talking with a beautiful accent and referring to us as “senoritas.”



The menu was categorized by “Sweet” and “Savory” which I loved. I decided on savory: a vegetable omelette with breakfast potatoes and wheat toast. The meal came fast and in a huge portion size. I took more than half of it home with me to eat for dinner that night -- no complaints there. The food was not only visually appealing, but tasted even better. The breakfast potatoes were my favorite, seasoned well and were sooo delicious.


One of my friends went with their Classic Crepes that came accented with a beautiful flower, and the other woman I was with ate a vegan option of a waffle that was the size of the entire plate and a side of breakfast potatoes.



One of the best parts of the whole experience: the music. The playlist was perfection. A mix of Fleetwood Mac, Vance Joy, Jack Johnson, Coldplay and so many more of the greats. I would go back just to listen to the music that they had running throughout my meal.


On my way home from Sweet Diner I stopped in by my grandparents; One of which is vegan, the other with a sensitive stomach, both of which are food critics of their own. My grandpa tried the breakfast potatoes and ended up warming the rest of them up and finishing them off himself. My grandma began nibbling on my omelette and ended up reheating it, finishing it off, and telling me, “Oh yes, I had a few more bites.” If they shared the remainder of my brunch, finished it off, and gave good notes about it -- I know that it truly was a good meal.


If you have not yet, get your fancy pants on and hit Sweet Diner on Chicago St. in the Third Ward. Great company, service, food, environment, music, grandma and grandpa approved -- no bad comments about the brunch restaurant! I'm already planning my next visit.

bottom of page