top of page

Sign here, please

Updated: Dec 6, 2023

The phrase “signature look” is enticing to me. A signature is a staple to an individual: a classic, typical resort. It is unique to everybody. In terms of having a signature look, mine winds up being a low bun hairstyle. Unoriginal -- I know -- but it became my look because it was an easy hairstyle for me to do in high school. I can dress it up, dress it down, slick it back, tease it up -- I’ve even found the placement that best fits my face shape. A low bun is a pretty typical look, but because I resort to that style almost every time I leave the house, I've made it my signature.


You can have a signature scent, accessory -- anything that you want to identify who you are. Signature makeup looks are my favorite, though. On my college campus, I see signature makeup looks on a lot of my friends and women in my classes. Cat eye liner to dark brows to purple glittery eyeshadow every single day -- they have made it their norm.


I crave a signature makeup look of my own. For as much as I love experimenting with makeup, I am still testing out which styles fit me and my personality best. Every day that I sit to put on my makeup, I hope that I craft a new look that I know will one day be deemed as my signature look.


Having a signature fashion sense is another way that people go. I’m unsure of what my signature style is or would be. It changes every single day. Today I can rock 90s chic and tomorrow I can stunt 70s grandmother. What I decide to wear on a daily basis all depends on the weather, my mood, and the fashion forecast. John Hancock has not been welcomed in my fashion sense yet.


Finding a signature is an entire process. I have done my makeup every day for four years and still have not fallen in love with one particular look. The brand that you create should make you feel good and confident. Take a photo of or note when you feel best and most confident. After a few notes or photos compare what is similar between all of the looks and work out a signature style. When you nail a makeup look that accentuates your features or put on an outfit that looks best on your body type: claim it. High contour makes your face less round? It’s your signature. Mauve lipstick brings out your eyes? Wear it every day. Low rise jeans show off your figure? Head to PacSun.


Even more exciting, go out on a limb with your look! One day I will cave and purchase the Natasha Denona Duo Chrome Top Coat eyeshadow in the color Burnt Terracotta and make it my signature. I have seen photos of models and influencers wearing it and I really love the look. A bit out of my comfort zone, but I love seeing women and makeup-wearers rocking the untraditional looks.


A personal signature brand is functional. There is always a planned makeup look or set outfit if you're in a rut. There isn't any “I don't know what to wear” moments or the moments wasted staring at your face in the mirror contemplating what look you want to achieve for the day. Shopping trips are a breeze. You now know that styles fit yourself best, so browsing through a store is quite easy. Look out for your designated style, try pieces on just to make sure, and you're good to go.


Lady Gaga always had a huge persona with her hair, makeup and fashion: Everyone knows the meat dress and such! However; In her Netflix documentary “Five Foot Two” (which I definitely recommend), she talks about wanting to take a more mature approach on her personal brand. In recent award shows, she has consistently worn elegant gowns and with sophisticated hairstyles and natural makeup. Her casual style is just that: casual. Plain black or white tee shirts with black jeans and a pair of boots. Gaga talking about her style change is synonymous with her talking about her signature look shift. She lived her young life in her unique style choices and now has put staples in her closet of neutral colors that are easy to throw on. Her signature looks are rebranded and recrafted.


Try something new every single day! That is the wonder of beauty and fashion: each new day there is something different that can be done. The idea of having a signature style is not something that should be fully embodied in each waking moment: Rather, to set forth when you need an assuring, confident glow. Claim the looks as your own !! Make it your essence and make it known. Sign here, please!



bottom of page