top of page

Taking a look into the 2021 Met Gala

Updated: Dec 5, 2023

The return of the Met Gala on September 13: A breath of fresh air and an energizing day for many individuals invested in the pop culture or fashion industry. I have written on the Gala in past blogs. However; this is my first piece that is structured on a specific Gala.


The Met Gala is an annual fundraising event hosted by Vogue at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York each year. Typically held on the first Monday in May, this year’s event was postponed to the fall due to COVID. Read more on the Gala straight from Vogue: here.

The theme for 2021 was “In America: A Lexicon of Fashion.” I absolutely loved this theme. It is meant to encompass fashion from all decades in America. When I initially heard the theme announcement, I was excited, yet, astounded. In a time where so many people are frustrated with U.S. government and policy, the Gala chairs decided to advance with the theme. I say bravo:” I applaud the highlights of fashion in this nation regardless of political indifference.


For the first time, the Met Gala was livestreamed for the world to view in addition to it being broadcasted on a television network. Viewers had their preferences after experiencing both. Some say that they appreciated the lax vibe of the livestream while others preferred the traditional display of professional broadcasting. I watched the Gala on and off throughout the night via social media, livestream an

d broadcast. All were fine to me — I had no personal preference but each format was distinguished from the other.


Can I get a drumroll??? The fashion displays of the night: The main attraction of the Met Gala.

The second I laid eyes on Mat Gala co-chair Amanda Gorman, I know that she was going to be my #1 pick of the night.Gorman wore a Statue of Liberty inspired Vera Wang dress. The cobalt blue hue of the gown laid on her dark skin offered the most pleasing and — for a lack of better words — simply beautiful layout. Her accessories consisted of a custom headpiece and book-shaped clutch that read “Give us your tired,” both designed by Jennifer Behr. Gorman was a modern Statue of Liberty at the Gala.


According to Bustle: “In an interview with Vogue on the red carpet, Gorman explained that she wanted her ensemble to represent how welcoming to diversity America should be, embracing of all. Combining her love of literature with fashion gave her the opportunity to curate an outfit that made a statement, both politically and fashionably.”


Emma Chamberlain. Need I say more? I was taken aback when I saw her look on the carpet. It was so Emma, yet not. Her hair and makeup were bold yet secure. Her custom Louis Vuitton dress took 290 hours to hand embroider but was ever so stunning. The dress had a modern feel to it with a hint of 90s. The straps on the back of the dress were my favorite part and made a simple statement on the flashy dress. For her first Met Gala, Emma really showed up. I look forward to seeing her at more in years to come.


Her exclusives with Vogue were another reason that I was so amped for her! Emma really gave us a look into how she prepped her beautiful look, describing it as “getting ready for prom.” These short, quick videos are awesome PR for both Vogue, the Met Gala and the creator herself. Take a look at them here.


J Beibs <3. Out of all of the men attending the event, Justin presented the best suit. Many fans questioned his choice of oversized pants, saying they looked “awkward.” Twitter users particularly attacked his choice of large pants with a cropped jacket. However; oversized pants and a cropped top is a trend in the current fashion industry for women. Although Bieber’s fit was masculine, it followed similar standards to those of the female fashion industry. Opposingly, I never thought anything negative of Bieber throughout the night. Maison Drew is Bieber’s own brand along with the brand of suit that he wore.


I have talked about Kim Kardashians 2019 Met Gala look (a.k.a. my personal favorite look of all time), and I hate to bring Kendall Jenner up but I am. Short and sweet on Kendall:

Jenner wore a Givenchy dress modeled after Audrey Hepburn in My Fair Lady. Kendal quotes that “[Hepburn] wore Givenchy in almost all of her movies. She’s the biggest legend; I’ve been obsessed with her my whole life.” Though not as iconic as her 2019 Met Gala fit that matched with her sister Kylie, her sheer beige dress decorated with crystals was impeccable and clean. The diamond choker topped it off.


Individuals that are not invested in the industry of fashion are often confused about how particular gowns or tux’s are considered ‘fashionable.’ I am invested in this industry and I often times find myself asking the same thing. This year it was Lily Rose Depp and Margaret Qualley, both in Chanel. I was disappointed especially in Lily Rose Depp. She has offered exceptional looks in the past. Presenting herself in a poodle skirt type beat was a no-go for me. Chanel needs to take a step away from the Met for a few years….

Billie Eilish in her Marilyn gown. The Oscar de la Renta gown was nothing wowing to me. When the co-chair arrived at the event, I knew right away that her look was an ode to Marilyn Monroe with the hair. The gown on the other hand did not impress. I appreciate Billie, her voice, personality: everything about her. She was even a co-chair of the event and, in my heart, I hate to put her on the no-go list. Aside from visual appeal, Billie advocated for a fur-free dress to advocate for animal rights and Oscar de la Renta participated.


The bathroom selfie(s). No. No. Please, no. The concept has so much potential: a time of fun displayed to the public at an event that is assumed to be professional and business. The PR world is quaking with the concept of the bathroom selfie at the Met Gala. The 2017 selfie lit a spark that could have taken off for publicity at the Met. 2021 blew the flame out. Check out this piece from Cosmo. Shake my head…

Rather than snapping the ever-so-famous bathroom selfie, celebs went their own route by posting their own selfies throughout the night. The idea was there, but could have been executed more strategically. Someone get a PR professional on the scene!


The next Met is on schedule and set for May 2, 2022. The theme (heart eyes) is a part two to this year's theme entitled: "An Anthology of Fashion." The Metropolitan Museum of Art is working with "American film directors to create cinematic scenes within each room that depict a different history of American fashion." Hopes are high for the next event to surpass the amazing fashion that was displayed this year. The angst to see the gowns, fits, events and guests in 2022 starts now.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page