top of page

My thoughts: A&F and the Curve Love Jeans

Baby Got Back by Sir Mix a Lot: He says “when a girl walks in with an itty bitty waist and a round thing in your face, you get sprung.” He also says that when she’s deep in the jeans that she’s wearing, he’s hooked and he can’t stop staring. The jeans that he is talking about are the Abercrombie&Fitch Curve Love jeans.



Abercrombie has begun to make a comeback over the past year after having a fallout in business since the mid 2010s. A study done by the University of Michigan in 2016 showed that Abercrombie was the “most hated retailer in history” based off of a score for customer satisfaction. The brand that was once seen as outdated and overrated has since revived itself into a modern and well-rounded brand. With that came the release of many new styles of jeans.


The FYP of fashion gurus on TikTok were flooded by videos and reviews of the newly released Abercrombie jeans made for women with wide hips and small waists. The Curve Love style of jeans were designed to compliment the female figure in a way that jeans rarely ever do: by allowing extra room around the hips and coming in tight around the waist.


In my years of buying jeans I’ve never once been able to find a pair of jeans that fit well and didn’t flip out on the back around the waist. Even my most expensive pair of pants (which were always American Eagle jeans) never fit me right. A belt was always needed. Not because the pants were too baggy, but because I didn't want anybody to be able to look down the back of my pants while I waited in line for my coffee.


I purchased the Curve Love 90s Ultra High Rise Straight Jeans in light wash in a size 26, 6R for $89.

After purchasing them at the end of November, they are practically the only jeans that I have worn since.


The material of the jeans are very strong and durable. There’s no chance that they’re going to rip or tear or stretch in the legs. Because of this, the pants are also very heavy. It almost feels like I’m holding a pair of durable work pants when I hold them and put them on because they weigh so much for a pair of denim.


In regards to the fit of the pants, Sir Mix a Lot would be pleased. The waist is small but has enough stretch to get around the butt while I pull them up over my hips. From the hips down, they are straight legged so my thighs and calves have more than enough room, almost like they have a carpenter-style to them.


The only real con to these pants are the length of them. The 6S (S for short) were way too short on me. However, the 6R (R for regular) are about half an inch longer than my feet. When I wear them out in the gross Wisconsin winters, I come indoors with melted snow rising up around the bottom of both of my pant legs.

The pants were a bit expensive for me in the first place and now they need to be tailored in order to fit properly length-wise. Alas, because I have never owned a pair of jeans that fit a curvy body so well, I will gladly get them shortened without a complaint.


Along with the jeans, Abercrombie has stepped up as a whole. Abercrombie was the shit when I was in middle school: We all remember the floral skirts and v-neck white tops. Throughout high school and early college, I was surprised that Abercrombie didn’t go out of business because I truly never heard of anybody wearing their clothes, posting about them or even saw people shopping there at the mall. After browsing through the familiar dimly-lit and strong smelling store in November, I was pleasantly surprised. I spent quite a while in the dressing room with an armful of clothes that were all amazing quality, but a little on the pricier side. I now own a bodysuit from the brand that I genuinely love to wear under everything from sweats to jeans to athleisure.


From dominating the fashion industry to falling into a deep pit, Abercrombie&Fitch is rising back to the top. The brand will dominate capsule wardrobes in 2022, particularly with the new Curve Love line of jeans. The inclusivity, the style options, the color palettes -- they are revamped and rolling on the market.


Has your girlfriend got the butt? In these jeans she does.


Here is another great view on the entire Curve Love collection done by the New York Post.

Recent Posts

See All

An obligation to write

On my drive home from an eight hour shift, I felt an obligation to write. I did not know why I felt an uncomfortable obligation to do something that I normally do by choice and with gladness. I shower

bottom of page